Art Barry
Car Owner/Fabricator
Class of 2009

Art Barry has just completed his 56th year of building and owning modified race cars.  He’s won at 26 different tracks, and his list of drivers includes Hall of Famers Bob Potter, Leo Cleary, George Summers, Bobby Santos, and Ed Flemke, Sr.  Other notable drivers who have wheeled Barry’s cars include Mike McLaughlin, Mike Stefanik, Jeff and Rick Fuller, Mike Ewanitsko and Reggie Ruggiero.  Former Cup drivers Brett Bodine and Greg Sacks have also driven for Art.

Barry won the Waterford Speedbowl championship in 1980 with Potter as his driver.   Art is a two time Whalen Modified Tour champion, in 2001 and 2002, with Mike Stefanik.  His cars have won two Thompson 300s (Stefanik and McLaughlin), two Spring Sizzlers (both with Ewanitsko), and two at Martinsville, with Bodine and Santos.  His cars have also won twice at NHIS. 

Art’s skill at designing and building race cars led him to establish SPAFCO and Spearpoint Auto, the Preston, CT home of his famous #21.

After 56 years of competing up and down the east coast, we welcome Art Barry into the NEAR Hall of Fame.